Strong Showing for Pharmacy School

USC Pharm.D. student Bonnie Hui

Photo/Glen Tao

The California Pharmacists Association awarded USC Pharm.D. student Bonnie Hui the Robert C. Johnson scholarship, named alumnus George Yasutake Pharmacist of the Year and honored alum William T. Econome with a life membership at its annual meeting on Feb. 20.

The Pharmacists Association and Pharmacy Foundation of California awarded the scholarship to Hui in recognition of her leadership in advancing the profession. Hui was one of three California students to receive the award.

Hui currently serves as co-president of the American Pharmacy Student Alliance and is involved in other pharmacist organizations.

School of Pharmacy students received the “Best Parody of a TV Commercial” award in the Pharmacy Foundation of California’s Film Festival. “Save-the-Date,” created by Pharm.D. students Hui, Mathew Keushguerian, Parth D. Shah, Diana Tran, Jay Parikh and Sana Vaiyani, won the award.

For screening and educational outreach having to do with hypertension, the school won the Project Hypertension Award for the second year in a row. Pharm.D. students Nicole Cho and Joyce Choi led this effort. USC students also took home the trophy for the “Quiz Bowl” competition.

Yasutake, who graduated from the school in 1978, won Pharmacist of the Year, the association’s highest honor. He was recognized for his state-of-the-art clinical pharmacy services as a pediatric clinical pharmacist and as a drug information and drug usage pharmacist at Huntington Memorial Hospital. Yasutake has served as president and speaker of the house in the Phamacists Association and has held other leadership roles in the profession, including chairman of the American Pharmacists Association.

Econome, who graduated from the school in 1957, was honored by the association with an honorary life membership award, recognizing his 50 years in the profession.